Feat Members Of Swallow The Sun, Dreadnaught & Cradle Of Filth
Release New Video For Rise Of Agony
Appearing At Adelaide's Enigma Bar on April 6

Melbourne’s long running metal band The Eternal recently released their 6th album Waiting For The Endless Dawn. The band have recruited two members of Melbourne’s Dreadnaught into the fold and the album boasts appearances from Marty Powell (My Dying Bride, Cradle Of Filth, and Mikko Kotamäki from Finnish doom legends, Swallow The Sun. 

The band recently recorded the album track, Rise From Agony at
Melbourne's Evelyn Hotel in February

Watch it here!

The video gives a taste of what fans in Adelaide can expect on Saturday, April 6 when the The Eternal wraps ip their national tour at The Enigma Bar!

Saturday, April 6: The Enigma Bar, Adelaide
with guests Voros & Oath Of Damnation

Event Page


Formed in 2002, the band have released five full length and two live albums plus a full concert DVD over their long career. The Eternal have toured Australia and globally with Amorphis, Anathema, Opeth, Tarja, Katatonia, Swallow The Sun, Him, Paradise Lost and more.


Best described as dark melancholic emotive metal with Doom & Progressive influences, The Eternal have put the best of those elements together on their 6th studio album, ‘Waiting for The Endless Dawn’ has been just released thru Finland's Inverse Records.


The Eternal’s early albums were released via Finland’s Firebox Records. The Sombre light of Isolation (2004), Sleep of Reason (2005) and Kartika (2009) were all met with incredible praise from heavy music media and fans alike and the band promoted these released with tours throughout Australia, Europe, Asia, America, Canada & South America.


In 2010 the band released Under A New Sun which was produced by the iconic Jeff Martin of The Tea Party and the album saw the band experiment with the progressive rock elements of their sound. 

After a successful tour of Australia and New Zealand, the band returned to their roots with the dark, melancholic and emotive, When The Circle Light Begins to Fade. The album was engineered and produced by frontman Mark Kelson, and was also the first album to feature Martin Powell (My Dying Bride / Cradle of Filth / Anathema), whom Mark had previously worked with in Cryptal Darkness. The album was once again supported by extensive touring and culminated in the release of the career spanning live album / DVD Circle of Live which was recorded in the bands home town of Melbourne, Australia to an enthusiastic home crowd.


The Eternal 2019 line up is it’s strongest ever and features Mark Kelson (Alternative 4, Insomnius Dei, Cryptal Darkness), Martin Powell (My Dying Bride, Cradle of Filth, Anathema), Ando McDougall (Dreadnaught) and Dave Langlands alongside renowned Australian guitarist Richie Poate (Dreadnaught).  

With Kelson & Poate handling all production duties, the 7 track, 75 minute opus Waiting For The Endless Dawn see’s the band treading in more melancholic waters than ever before and is easily their darkest & heaviest album to date.

The album opens with The Wound, a 20 minute cinematic statement that takes the listener from moments of progressive, emotive rock, all the way to slow drudging doom metal and does not let you go till its bitter end.
A film for The Wound was produced in Portugal by renowned film maker Guilherme Henriques and released in August 2018.


Watch The Wound here

Waiting For The Endless Dawn also see’s the band experimenting with their more extreme side on tracks such as In The Lilac Dusk which features the enigmatic voice of Finnish doom legends Swallow The Sun's Mikko Kotamäki.


Waiting For The Endless Dawn is a heavy hearted, dark statement in the bands diverse and long career, which will see them tour extensively throughout 2019 and 
perform the album in its entirety.


The Eternal are:

Mark Kelson : Vocals / Guitar 

Richie Poate : Guitar

David Langlands : Bass Guitar 

Ando McDougall : Drums

Martin Powell : Keyboards (Studio)


Waiting For The Endless Dawn is available now

Spotify | Apple Music