top of page



Gatecreeper’s searing new single Masterpiece of Chaos evokes their tried and true, singular death metal style. Vocalist Chase Mason tells, “Masterpiece of Chaos is a nightmarish vision of a broken mirror with an ominous creature that lives within the fragmented web of glass. It sonically contrasts and compliments the more melodic approach we took to some of the other songs."


Gatecreeper’s pivotal new album Dark Superstition is due in just one month via Nuclear Blast - their label debut. Their sprawling third full-length is more concise, melodic, and memorable than anything they’ve ever done. It sees vocalist Chase H. Mason, guitarists Eric Wagner and Israel Garza, drummer Metal Matt Arrebollo and bassist Alex Brown—carving out their own path.

Dark Superstition deals with the supernatural, divination, fear of the unknown, and trust in magic or chance. The album shapeshifts from one brutal soundscape to the next as each sonic structure rouses its own emotion and landscape.

“Many of the songs incorporate supernatural ideas with my own experiences,” Mason says. “But the title itself is a reference to the Superstition Mountains in our home state of Arizona. It’s a beautiful mountain range surrounded by tragedy and legends of hidden fortune.”

To help perfect their game this round, Gatecreeper joined forces with drummer / songwriter Fred Estby, of Swedish death metal titans Dismember, whose influences can be heard throughout the album. Dark Superstition was recorded at God City Studios in Salem, MA with Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou, who also mixed the album.

This month Gatecreeper hit the road in North America with In Flames followed by a headlining run which hits Los Angeles, Seattle, San Francisco, Portland, Vancouver and more. Undeath, Jarhead Fertilizer and Final Gasp will support each night.

Stream Masterpiece Of Chaos here.
Pre-order and pre-save Dark Superstition here.


Chase H. Mason - Vocals | Eric Wagner - Guitar | Matt Arrebollo - Drums
Israel Garza - Guitar | Alex Brown - Bass

01. Dead Star
02. Oblivion
03. The Black Curtain (Official Music Video)
04. Masterpiece of Chaos
05. Superstitious Vision
06. A Chilling Aura
07. Caught in the Treads (Official Music Video)
08. Flesh Habit
09. Mistaken For Dead
10. Tears Fall From the Sky



Formed in 2013, Gatecreeper have spent the last decade steadily winning fans across metal, punk and hardcore scenes. Their self-titled 2014 EP established instant credibility as purveyors of the old-school form. The band signed with Relapse, releasing their highly acclaimed full-length debut Sonoran Depravation (2016), followed by Deserted (2019), and An Unexpected Reality (2021) which was released via Closed Casket Activities. Throughout the years they’ve toured with Cannibal Corpse, Power Trip, Obituary, Municipal Waste and more.

bottom of page