"Yes it is true, Amon Amarth have delivered a masterpiece with Berserker." - Heavy Magazine

"The emergence of a darker, more complex and emotionally charged side of Amon Amarth is powerfully executed on Berserker." - Hysteria Magazine, 9/10

"Berserker is pure unadulterated Amon Amarth, 12 blood-soaked songs of fire, fury with the odd history lesson thrown in. I can’t find fault, f#ck it – perfect score!" - Wall Of Sound,10/10

"Battle-ready anthems bustling with riffs weightier than a busload of sumo wrestlers." -

"With Berserker, Amon Amarth deliver what they promise: a melodic death metal take on the era of the Vikings which creates a dramatic atmosphere and transports their listeners straight to the battlefield." - Spotlight Report, 4.5/5

"Amon Amarth tried something different with Berserker, and have successfully proven that they aren’t one-trick ponies, but many-legged Sleipnirs." - Metal Wani

"Bottom line is that the production on ‘Berserker’ is incredible. Huge sounding tone, fat bottom end, and the vocals are absolutely elite in delivery which is to be expected from a seasoned monster like Johan Hegg." - Forte Magazine, 4/5

"Packed with galloping riffs of primal war music, atmospherically Amon Amarth have the ability to tap into the innate side of raging masculinity where the heart of a warrior lies when called to battle." - Everblack Media

 "Berserker is designed to get heads banging and fists in the air." - Stack Magazine

"Berserker is a great album from start to finish." - Silver Tiger Media


Amon Amarth have released their 11th full-length, Berserker, via Sony Music Australia today.



Comprising 12 monstrous heavy metal anthems that bulge with irresistible melodic hooks, bursts of thrilling savagery and moments of spine-tingling dynamic drama, Berserker is the result of the huge surge of creativity and a collective desire to keep moving forward with no compromise. From the disarming melodrama and explosive riffing of opener "Fafner's Gold" and the brutish simplicity of the rampaging "Crack The Sky" to the epic fury of "Raven's Flight" and the grim, gritty storytelling of "Ironside" and "Skoll and Hati", Berserker is an album full of trademark Amon Amarth bluster and bite but with every aspect of the band's sound somehow refined, sonically enhanced and made vastly more potent, both in terms of metal oomph and emotional power. Neatly summing up the spirit behind these exhilarating new songs is the album's semi-title track, "The Berserker At Stamford Bridge": a visceral but vivid historical tale, recounting the Vikings last stand against the English army in 1066 and the mind-bending heroics of one axe-wielding warrior.

Watch Raven's Flight video here:

Showcasing an undeniable and startling upgrade for every aspect of Amon Amarth's iconic sound, Berserker was recorded in Los Angeles with renowned studio guru Jay Ruston (Anthrax/Stone Sour) manning the controls. After recording several rounds of professional demos for the new songs (initially with fellow Swedish metal icon Peter Tägtgren and then later with Ruston himself) the band crossed the Atlantic to make final the recordings in LA, eager to take a fresh approach to the album-making process.

"For me, this is Amon Amarth 2.0," vocalist Johan Hegg declares. "I think what we've done here is give ourselves the space to explore other parts of our musicality and who we are as a band. If you're content with where you're at, what's the point of continuing? We always want to come up with new ideas and find new ways of doing things and to create bigger and better shows and really try to improve every aspect of what the band is. We want to try to keep growing and to do this for as long as we have the possibility to do so, because this is the best fucking job in the world."

In support of Berserker, Amon Amarth will be touring with Slayer, Lamb of God, and Cannibal Corpse this month in North America, before returning to the states for a headlining run with Arch Enemy, At The Gates, and Grand Magus.


01. Fafner's Gold
02. Crack the Sky
03. Mjölner, Hammer of Thor
04. Shield Wall
05. Valkyria
06. Raven's Flight
07. Ironside
08. The Berserker at Stamford Bridge
09. When Once Again We Can Set Our Sails
10. Skoll and Hati
11. Wings of Eagles
12. Into the Dark