To Release New Album Nowhere Now Here On Jan 25, 2019

Releases Short Film


The conflict and correlation between dark and light is a universal theme with a historically rich history. 

Musically, perhaps no band in the 21st Century has mined that relationship more consistently or effectively than Japan’s MONO.


Across 10 albums in 20 years MONO have convincingly reflected the quietest and most chaotic parts of life through their music. Their ever-expanding instrumental palette – which began in earnest in 1999 with the traditional guitar-bass-drums rock band setup – has evolved to include as many as 30 orchestral instruments. Now on Nowhere Now Here the band add electronics to their repertoire – perhaps inspired by guitarist/composer Takaakira ‘Taka’ Goto’s recent collaboration with John McEntire the beguiling Behind the Shadow Drops. 


Nowhere Now Here also sees MONO’s first-ever lineup change adding new drummer Dahm Majuri Cipolla (The Phantom Family Halo) to the core trio of Goto, Tamaki and Yoda. 

Tamaki also makes her vocal debut here singing into the shadows of vintage Nico on the poetically hazy “Breathe.”


The unlikely career of MONO has taken them to virtually every corner of the planet several times over. Those corners have all left indelible marks on their music as it drills deeper towards the sound of feeling not quite human and all too human – often at the same time.

MONO have also released collaborative short film, directed by French director Julien Levy. The film track two from Nowhere Now Here,  "After You Comes the Flood”

Starring: Aina Yamada, Ruko, Juri Ihata, Louis Rault Watanabe



Tokyo, 2018. A small laundromat at night.

Three young women are making fun of Anna for caring too much about her love life. But they will soon regret it as Anna's revenge plot will haunt them all night long. 

What follows is a pursuit through the streets of Tokyo during which fear and attraction collide.

Danger is never far in this film borrowing codes from both Hitchcock films and independent Japanese thrillers.


Watch it here 


01 God Bless

02 After You Comes the Flood

03 Breathe

04 Nowhere

Now Here

05 Far and Further

06 Sorrow

07 Parting

08 Meet Us Where the Night Ends

09 Funeral Song

10 Vanishing

Vanishing Maybe


Pre orders available now